top of page
Search
  • justicecenteredreh

Interview with Mika Bodet, Disabled PT



Mika Bodet is a physiotherapist currently working in Alberta, Canada in outpatient private practice. She has been practicing since 1996 after graduating from the University of Alberta.


In 2003 Mika was hit by a car while cycling, leaving her with a complete L1 spinal cord injury. Since then she has been a paraplegic and uses a wheelchair full time. This injury has not stopped Mika from working with a wide variety of clientele and with many techniques.

Tell me more about your professional practice.
I see clients who have MSK injuries and they usually are ambulatory and quite healthy. I see patients who have injuries from MVAs, work, or sports. I specialize in pelvic health as well. I have been trained in McKenzie, acupuncture, IMS, manual therapy, concussion rehab, GLAD program, and TMJ.

How does having a disability impact your work?
I find that my disability is not a hindrance to working in my area of practice because I have adapted how I work so that I can use my upper body to do most techniques. I find that I can identify with patients who have pain since I also deal with chronic pain and injuries from my accident.

“Overall I find work very rewarding and I would encourage anyone with a disability to strive to achieve whatever they wish to do professionally.”

Do you feel supported at work?
For the most part I feel supported by my employers although I find that they do forget to accommodate me when organizing events that are not always accessible. At work things are great but when it comes to social events, they do not always consider whether it is a place or activity that I can participate in.

What would you like others to know about disabled health rehab workers?
Rehab professionals and patients should be aware that disabled PTs can be just as effective in practice as other able-bodied persons but may have to modify the techniques that they perform. I think that would help promote the profession and help disabled persons in general to be more respected and accepted.

Anything else you would like to share?
Overall I find work very rewarding and I would encourage anyone with a disability to strive to achieve whatever they wish to do professionally. However, I was not disabled when I took my PT training and so I don't know how that would work but I think that would be great if disabled persons could participate in PT schools.


Photo source: https://www.freepik.com/premium-photo/woman-sits-wheelchair-swimming-pool_12680319.htm
32 views0 comments
bottom of page